Shopping

Be_JollyWith apologies to my wonderful sister-in-laws and step-daughter, I’d rather have a colonoscopy than go shopping at 4am on “Black Friday”. Granted, I’m usually working, I’m not a morning person and shopping is not my most favorite activity anyway. I do enjoy grocery shopping and browsing. Just don’t put me a crowded space with sleep-deprived people looking for a bargain. I still have flashbacks of an incident in the Albany Fred Meyer in a too crowded, too polite aisle where I apparently acted selfishly and was verbally reprimanded. So if I’m ever lucky enough to actually have the day after Thanksgiving off, you will find me sleeping in followed by drinking tea and reading.

This year, like most others, I will be at Garland Nursery, my family business. I’ll be on the IMG_9279side of the counter where I’m most comfortable. We have some good plans for the weekend. We’re going to start with some hot cider served all three days, as well as food samples.  We even have some low key specials. Saturday is Corvallis Independent Business Alliance (CIBA) Buy Local First Day. We will be tasting some of the food items we sell that are made in Oregon. There’s also a special deal we’re offering. Check it out at http://www.corvallisiba.org/buy_local_first.html.  Sunday is December 1st. Being the first Sunday in December, Kate will be teaching What to Do in the Garden in December.

Garland_doorsSo Garland does have a lot going on this weekend.  The store is decorated, the elves have been busy decorating wreaths, and it smells like the forest.  We’re festive but we’re peaceful.  No long lines just to get in the door (unless the train shows up), no pushing and shoving, and there’s cider.   So come visit us Friday, Saturday or Sunday.   In between now and then, have a very Happy Thanksgiving.  And if you’re one of those individuals that truly get pleasure from Black Friday shopping, I wish you good luck.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment