Growing Little Gardeners

  • Last week my husband and I enjoyed a visit from his daughter, her husband and two children. We love all of them and enjoy the limited time we are able to spend with them.  Being a grandparent is a joy. I especially enjoy sharing those activities that are also my favorites: coloring, making up stories and taking walks. This visit I shared the love of gardening. It wasn’t the first time I realize as I write this. We pulled weeds together when we visited them in Italy last summer. However, this was the first time we planted something together and I had their undivided attention. We planted lettuce and then watered it in. It didn’t take long and I didn’t share as many lessons as I could/should have shared. My grandson, Maxton, is 2 1/2.  He found something else to do after the lettuce planting. Mia, who is 5, stayed with me for quite a while.  We pulled weeds, watched a bee buzz around and caught a worm burrowing into the ground. I’d like to say it was some magical, important event but it wasn’t. That’s okay. It also wasn’t watching videos on the phone or being glued to any other electronic device.  No one fought.  It was peaceful and simple. It was a pleasant afternoon and I was glad to be doing something I loved with someone I love.  Thank you, Mia.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing Little Gardeners

  1. nancy says:

    You experienced the best of grandparenting. We love our kiddos but then in sharing a love of nature, oh my! As we open up their world to new experiences and wonders is so enriching… for them and for us!

  2. Colleen Johnson says:

    You really have no idea how important that time was. You say it wasn’t important or magical. Well, it was to her. Maybe not right now but she will remember it in years to come. Like I remember picking peas with my Grandma Nina and digging new potatoes with Grandpa Walter. Then the real magic happened when Grandma turned those little beauties into creamed new potatoes and peas for lunch. I remember it so real it almost hurts and keeps my grandmother close to me. Mia will treasure those memories in years to come.

Leave a Reply

