Diva Arrives and more

IMG_0427All of us at the nursery breathed a collective sigh of relief on Tuesday when the cooler, rainy weather arrived.  The nursery staff, like the rest of Oregonians, runs the gamut of cool lovers to heat seekers.  After a long run of 85-100 deg days, we were all sick of watering and sweating.  The plants were happy, too.  Many of them sprung back to life, looking almost fresh.  Don’t get me wrong, I like the sun as much as the next person.  July-October are my favorite months of the year.  I have greater mental and physical health in the warm, sunny weather than the cool, rainy stuff.  But sometimes it is just nice to get a break.

One benefit of the cooler temperatures was that I baked the zucchini rellenos I featured in last week’s blog.  I shouldn’t admit that I wrote about them before I actually tried the recipe.  I trusted the source and the recipe looked simple enough.  And it turned out nicely.  My husband and I enjoyed it.  But I made some discoveries.  “4 medium zucchinis” is open to interpretation and the size of the zucchini impacts the baking time.  I had to bake mine an additional 10 minutes.  Also, the recipe did not specify whether to peel and seed the tomatoes for theIMG_0396 sauce.  I did not and it turned out nicely, but doing so might yield a more attractive sauce.  As in past experience, I was surprised at how sweet homemade tomato sauce is.

The second benefit of the cooler weather is it got me thinking about fall, my favorite

season.  Many of the plants in pots and in the ground are looking a little peaked after the hot weather.  Many of the customers at the nursery are looking to replace such plants.  We have some fresh stock of summer annuals and perennials but also we have a supply of fall bloomers, like Rudbeckia, Sedums and violas.  We even got several flavors of Callibrachoas (Million bells) that will flower up to and possibly past the first frost.  So things are beginning to perk up at the nursery.

IMG_0366croppedAnother new introduction is Diva, the newest addition to the Garland Nursery pet family.  Diva is a 9 week old Cavalier King Charles spaniel, from a local breeder.  She arrived last week and has captured everyone’s heart with her youthful energy and gorgeous looks.  She resides with me and my husband but truly she is shared by all.  Her schedule fluctuates with mine…she will be at the nursery whenever I am.  Next week that is Monday-Friday.  Feel free to come by and say hello.

Next week starts the show circuit.  Karen, Lee, Erica and I will be visiting the Farwest Nursery Show (put on by the Oregon Association of Nurseries) at the Portland Convention Center.  That show will be followed by several distributor shows and our buying group convention.  This year we be looking for copper sprinklers, good buys, and anything new.  Let us know if there is something you’d like us to search for.

Have a happy Labor Day!  Enjoy the sunny days in the garden as well as the cool days, when we get them.  And come out and visit Diva!

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

