A New Year

There’s something exciting about a brand new year.  A clean slate, a renewed energy, and spring is just around the corner.  For me, January is the month to dye my hair a wild color and pretend to resolve to be tidy and uncluttered.  Also, it’s the month to unveil the  wonderful classes and events that we have planned at Garland Nursery.  Last year, we had the major dates scheduled in October.  This year, it didn’t happen until last week.  Oh well.  We still have some fun things planned and you will be hearing about them soon.

This is the nursery blog and I’d like to share our plans for the blog for 2014.  A few (maybe more than a few) years ago, we put out a newsletter.  In the beginning it went out via the mail.  After a rather lengthy break, we brought it back as an e-mail newsletter.  In the last 3 or so years we haven’t done a newsletter.  We’ve talked about doing that again but it hasn’t happened.  In an effort to provide our customers with more information, we decided to make the blog format be the way that we are providing some of that information.  We’re hoping to have 2 posts per month that are more like a newsletter article, full of information that you can use.  There will be several different writers that will be posting articles.  You’ve read posts by Karen in the past.  She will be writing a lot more this year.  Her posts are always well received and well read.  In addition, Sharon, Charlotte, Kathy and Kate will be contributing.  I’m sure you will enjoy their contributions.  And I will be writing one blog a month, simply because I love to do it.  Since everyone else is contributing lots of informative articles, I’m planning on just adding color.

I truly hope that you enjoy the changes we make.  If you have any feedback, positive or negative, please let me know.  My e-mail is brenda@garlandnursery.com.  Happy New Year. Brenda

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

