Funny Thing About Memories

Newburg AreaIt’s so funny what our minds remember about certain times in our lives.  The summer I did my horticultural internship I lived in an house on the south side of the OSU campus.  My roommates and I were only there for 3 months or so.  My internship was at a nursery in Dayton, Oregon, an over an hour drive, and my shift started at 7:30.  Most of my memories from that summer are of work.  I barely remember spending much time in the house.  I don’t even know if I planted a garden, but one fond memory I do have is our neighbor, an Asian student, asking me for a zucchini for a dish he was preparing.  Well, I had a zucchini and I shared.  Maybe it was because I thought he was cute.  More than likely, if I had planted a zucchini plant, I had many to share. He nicely shared a portion of his dish.  It was along the lines of egg foo yung, only better than any I had eaten before.  Maybe it was the freshness, the spices or the lack of gravy.  I don’t remember exact details, just that it was delicious.

What does this have to do with the present day?  I still love to eat, I still grow zucchini and Zucinni_frittersthat memory stuck with me.  Over the years, as I’ve tried out new recipes, I’ve kept my eyes open for a zucchini pancake/fritter, as I didn’t really associate it as egg foo yung.  That search has led to one of my favorite recipes to take to potlucks: a greek zucchini fritter courtesy of Nigella Lawson.  I’ve recently converted it to gluten free!  (Click here for a copy.)  Of course I am always wanting something new.  Somehow in searching on the internet a few weeks ago, I stumbled across zucchini egg foo yung recipes.  It hadn’t occurred to me until that moment that perhaps that was the dish my college neighbor made.  So I spent some time trying to find just the right recipe.  (Actually I’m not sure why I bother because half the time I end up combining 2 different ones because I don’t have all the ingredients or I think something sounds funny.  And that’s exactly what happened this time!  Also note: you don’t need the traditional gravy on top, so that isn’t included.)  I made it for dinner.  It was easy to make, turned out great, satisfied my craving for chinese food, used up zucchini, and allowed me to share that college memory with my husband.   You can’t get much better than that.  (Click here for recipe)

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Funny Thing About Memories

  1. Alice says:

    Would love to see recipes, but cannot view them. When I click on link they only appear for about 1 second.

    Please advise.

Leave a Reply

