Art and Wine in our Garden

wherewesitGardening, enjoying art and drinking wine are three of my favorite activities.  As I’m
sure I’ve written several times in this blog, my husband and I spend a lot of time walking and talking, or sitting and talking, or gardening all while drinking wine.  I was a little concerned about this last point until my hairdresser told me she enjoys having a cold beer while she gardens. Usually Mitch and I work until it’s not fun anymore and then we have that glass of wine (or Vivacity Spirit Gin), sit down and enjoy the garden.  Sometimes the work is not gardening.  It could be all the extra stuff we do at home that doesn’t get done during business hours or the normal household chores. But often, although not as often as it should be, it is gardening. When we get to that point when we’re ready to unwind, we really enjoy strolling through our garden.  We talk about what needs to be done, what combinations we like, what improvements we would like to make, and what is particularly charming.
For me, that stroll brings back memories.  There is the tete a’tete that we had at our rental house.  I broke the table so we separated it into two chairs.  It is our favorite place to sit. When I see it I remember the house in Tangent, the peace and quiet and the view. There is the place beside the furniture where one of our dogs, Tumbles, used to like to lay.  She’s no longer with us.  There are other spots where our other dog, Tipper, enjoys.  I’m sure after Backgroundshe is gone, I will see those empty spots and think of her. Something that brings joy to my heart as we walk through the garden are the pieces of art that we have added.  I have IMG_8742written previously about some of these.  When Garland Nursery first started hosting Art and Wine in the Garden, we would purchase a metal stake with a fairy each year.  We own three. An hypertufa gunnera leaf was added. Then we found a choir angel shovel that we added.  Then I made the conscious decision that we should purchase one piece a year to add to our collection. So we walk through the event and spot our favorites and narrow it down.  In 2011, my sister and her boyfriend gave us a metal piece with a fern pattern framed by a chainsaw chain.  It has a visual place of honor above some lovely sword ferns. Unfortunately it is next to a dying Viburnum (yes plants do die in my garden), so we’ll have to relocate it soon. I particularly enjoy the metal and glass sculpture of red hollyhocks that IMG_8740ended up at the corner of our vegetable garden. Not sure why but I do see it there most frequently and it lifts my spirits each time.
This year our event is Saturday, July 27th and Sunday July 28th from 10am to 4 pm. We are thrilled that the number of artists has increased to 40 from last year’s number of 29. Many of the regulars are returning but there will be many new artists.  We enjoy meeting these talented people and seeing what they sell.  I usually don’t have anything specific in mind when I shop the booths.  I prefer to let something speak to me.  However, my favorites are dragonflies, fairies and re-purposed tools, so those will strike my fancy. Also, I like anything blue, red, pink or purple.  Okay, let’s just say I like color.  Red is the color that has been speaking to me most often this past year, which is a bit of a switch for me.  Perhaps middle age setting in has made me want to be more passionate. Then again,
it could just be the wine.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

