Sunny Day Pruning

pruningIt appears we are getting our days of winter sunshine a bit later than normal this year.  I’ll take it whenever it arrives.  As far as I’m concerned it couldn’t have come  at a more perfect time for gardening.  President’s Day is the date recommended by local rosarians for pruning roses.  Here we are at President’s Day weekend with some sunshine!  Are your pruners and loppers sharpened?  This is a great time to do other pruning and cleaning, as well.  Fruit trees, berries, shade trees, and summer blooming plants that bloom at the end of new growth (like Spiraea Magic Carpet or Crape Myrtle) should be pruned now.  Don’t prune Rhododendrons, Azaleas, Forsythia and other plants that are about to bloom and already have their flower buds formed.  You’ll cut off all the flowers.  If you’d like to learn more about pruning, we’re offering a pruning class this Sunday, Feb 17th at 1pm.  Karen Hopson will be leading you the basics of how and when to prune.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

