Musings on a snowy night

It was odd to awaken on the second day of spring to find a blanket of snow.  Odd that in such a non-snowy place like the Willamette Valley, we are cold and white while the rest of the country is basking in unseasonably warm weather.  You can blame me for winter hanging on.  I haven’t gotten around to cleaning my work office and getting organized for the year.  It seems like something is conspiring against me to get this unpleasant task done.  Oh well, I’ll just put it off with something a little more fun, musing about the snow.

The sight of the beautiful pink plum blossoms coated with snow I saw this morning seemed foreign but stunning.  German engineered cars just run better in the snow.  We waited to move our plants out of the hoop houses until the danger of snow was past.  Foolishly we thought it was and moved them out on Monday.  Our greenhouses are filling up with lots of pretty spring and summer flowers.  They’ll be waiting for the weekend, when I hear it might warm up and the sun come out.  The falling snow that seemed bleak and depressing in the light of day is charming in the glow of evening.  Early spring flowering bulbs poking their heads out of the snow are a common sight in the bulb catalogs.  It is much more charming to see them in person.  Did you know even the most fragrant sweet violet does not emit an odor in the cold?  I have confidence that spring will arrive in Oregon.  I just hope it makes up for the wild weather of the last two months.  Until then I have a lot to do: cleaning, organizing, planning and dreaming.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

