I’m Thankful For…

This week is all about Thanksgiving for me.  It’s true that we’ve been decorating for Christmas in the store but for me (and I suspect many readers) my thoughts are all on Thanksgiving.  My sister Erica is hosting our family dinner this year.  This is the first time she has cooked a whole turkey herself.  So she is nervous.  We’ve planned out the menu, mostly, and divided up the cooking duties.  I’m the pie baker in the family, so I get to make pumpkin pie.  (Don’t tell anyone, but I’m going to use a store-bought frozen crust.)  I’m really looking forward to Thursday.  The nursery is closed and we can rest for a day.  Oh, there’s lots of work involved in a holiday meal but it is pleasant because it is shared.  I enjoy being with my family.  Good people, good food and a good time.  It doesn’t get much better than that.

In yoga class today, our teacher brought up an interesting perspective.  She asked us “What do you bring to the gathering, what do you contribute?”  When we take our focus off ourselves and onto giving to others, our perspective changes, we become more positive, the small (and not so small) family annoyances might not be as difficult, and we are blessed.

With all that in mind, here is my list of things to be thankful for this year:

  1. My husband, my family, my in-laws, our grandchildren, and my dog.
  2. The wonderful people I get to work with every day.
  3. A roof over my head and food on the table.
  4. Our customers,  without whom number 2 and 3 is not possible.
  5. That I get to work this Friday and I don’t have to go shopping.  Yes, I am female and yes, I am serious.
  6. Rain in the valley and snow in the mountains.  We’re supposed to get a lot of liquid sunshine this week but at least until after Christmas, I’m glad it’s not snow.
  7. Health.
  8. That I get to write on a regular basis and that I am challenged regularly in my work.
  9. My son-in-law has returned from Afghanistan and so many of our brave soldiers are returning home.

Happy Thanksgiving!

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

