Art and Wine in the Garden

Choir Girl

I love my garden.  It is a source of peace and relaxation.  Also, it satisfies my creative urges and allows me self-expression.  I feel connected to nature in my garden.  I can sit and watch the hummingbird, the bees and hear the other birds chirping.  My husband and I enjoy eating dinner outside and relaxing with a glass of wine in our side garden.

When we had the basic bones of the garden completed and set (the larger plants and hardscape), we began to add pieces of garden art to our yard.  I am one who enjoys whimsical creatures and bright colors.  Also, I feel that the art I want in my garden should reflect my personality, my interests and those of my husband and us as a couple.

We love to dance

One of the first pieces we placed in our garden was a large, rusted dragonfly on a stake.  Truth be told, it was a piece we were selling at the nursery that no one wanted to buy for whatever reason.  Perhaps it was too expensive.  I’m not sure.  There were 2 of them and one ended up in my garden and one in my sister’s garden.

In 2000, Garland Nursery started an event called Art in the Garden.  It was most likely a stolen idea, the best usually are.  We invited artists, especially those specializing in garden art,  from Oregon to show and sell their wares.  It started as a one day event.  Twelve years later, it is still going on.  It has ebbed and waned.  The weather has been pretty wild for some of the weekends.  It is now a two day event.  This year, we felt it needed something new to excite people.  So we have really worked to create a large, fun event.  Right now we have 29 artists signed up to participate.  Over half of those are new artists!  There will be 4 wineries here selling their wine by the glass.  There is a food vendor and music on one of the days.  We are really excited to have you join us for this fun event.

At one of the first few events we purchased a piece of garden art.  If my memory serves me right, I think it was a hypertufa gunnera leaf.  It is a lovely concrete casting of a dinosaur plant leaf.  We turned it into a fountain that remained a fountain for perhaps a year.  It has held a crucial place in our garden.  Over time moss has accumulated on the surface, giving it an ancient look.  This spring, my husband got it going again as a fountain.  We have truly been enjoying it once again.  From then on we tried to add one piece a year.  There were a few years that we didn’t find exactly the right piece or we didn’t feel we could afford to purchase something.  But most years we found something delightful.  There is the choir angel made from an old shovel.  We had to repaint her this spring and she is now looking vibrant.  We have a recycled glass sculpture featuring an apple.  And lots of metal fairies!

This spring we experimented with our own garden art, creating a wine bottle border and wine-bottle/glass sculpture.  We were quite pleased with the results.  I have also used old, broken tools as supports in my garden to good effect.  Then I attempted a glass bead dragonfly stone.  I was not happy with the result.  I’m thinking now that I really should leave this creative art stuff to the professionals.  So I’m very excited to shop next weekend, July 30th and 31st.  I’ve seen photos of some of the art and I’m really excited.  There’s still a lot of room in my garden and I’m sure I’m going to find a very memorable piece of art.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

