The heat is on

Now that summer has finally arrived and the temperatures are climbing, things are really heating up at the nursery.  And what does the heat bring?  Watering, watering and more watering!  Our trees are on drip irrigation, our shrubs get overhead sprinkler irrigation and the rest of the nursery is hand-watered.  On hot days, portions of the tree and shrub section still require hand-watering.  Things like Spiraea and Barberry seem to need lots of water while in containers.  In our perennial and bedding plant section, many of the plants need watering twice a day.  If the temps climb over 95, make that 3 times.  Add to that, the different growers use different soil, some of which dries out faster than others.  Some plants may have a more extensive (sometimes root bound) root system, be larger for their root system or have large leaves.  Some plants simply droop in the heat or sun, even if their soil is wet.  That makes everyone that waters at Garland Nursery a magician, because somehow they manage to keep all the plants looking good and healthy despite a very difficult challenge.

I write all this because proper watering is not easy and it certainly is not a “one size fits all” solution.  I’m always amazed when I see 2 of the same kind of plants sitting side by side and one is wet and the other bone dry.  Trust me, I have done my fair share of watering, both at the nursery and at home.  I even managed to keep the perennial section watered by myself on a 95 deg day.  Of course, all I did for 7 hours was water.  It is funny, too, that some hot days the plants need more water than others.  It seems like after several days of 95-100 deg weather, the plants actually need less water.  Perhaps it’s my imagination!

All of this watering on over 6 acres of retail space jammed full of material makes us experts at keeping plants alive and beautiful at any temperature. If you have any questions drop by or call us; we can help! We now have a section of drip irrigation supplies as well. So come on by.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The heat is on

  1. Hello very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also¡KI am satisfied to seek out so many useful information right here in the post, we need develop more strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

