Thermometers and water wands

July 4th has arrived and with it sunny, warm weather. I must admit to liking temps in the 75-85 deg range, so the last few days have been pleasant for me. At the nursery we’re always aware of the weather forecast. Extra heat means extra watering and cold temps mean protecting tender plants. The Internet makes it so easy and fast to check the “predictions” that a day at work doesn’t go by that I’m not looking at one of weather websites. It’s amazing the effect it has on my attitude, too! In fact this spring, with all the wet, cool weather I actually got more depressed each time I checked the predictions online. At home we have an indoor/outdoor remote thermometer with max/ min capabilities. However, right at the moment it isn’t functioning. My husband is the guru of all things technological at our house. I haven’t found out if it is a terminal ailment or whether the instrument simply needs a new battery.
So I may be in the market for a new thermometer. I’d prefer a more decorative thermometer, possibly one with large numbers, that would hang outside. My husband favors, no surprise, one with all the bells and whistles. That isn’t necessarily a gender difference but it certainly shows the difference in our personalities and strengths. I failed all aptitude tests involving mechanical reasoning. I was doing well if I even understood what the question was asking. As a child, my husband was known to take something apart just for the fun of putting it back together. His talent does not extend to cars however. Too bad! My strength lies in writing, researching and memory. Give me an essay test any day over multiple choice, or horrors-true/false. If I understand the concept, I can effectively communicate it in writing. Conversation is another story. Back to the thermometer. So we may be in the market for a new one. I’ve got to check out what the nursery has in stock. I know we have several different styles, so hopefully Mitch and I can find one we agree upon.
The other thing occupying our time (well Mitch’s time) at home lately is watering. We have a drip system. However, while we got ready for our garden to be on tour, we messed it up. We cut a few hoses, pulled lines out of pots and added new plants and pots. Mitch has gotten about half of the system working. So he’s been spending about an hour and a half every other day hand watering. That’s actually not such a bad thing. (Granted he’s the one watering at 5:30 in the morning and not me). Hand watering allows you to give more water to things that might need it, new plantings for instance. I find it to be meditative as well as a chance to enjoy my garden. Even once Mitch gets the drip going, We’ll be doing some hand-watering. I do enjoy it so I hope to help out. I do evening watering as another of my personality quirks is that I am not, nor ever will be, a morning person. While researching about slugs and snails, Mitch learned that morning watering cuts down on their damage. Personally, it seems to me that they are still devouring everything but maybe it’s a little less.
Mitch and I do both like to use water wands as opposed to hand nozzles or just an on/off device. My sister prefers the nozzle. At least we don’t have a marital squabble over watering devices. Of course, considering he’s doing most of the watering, he would get the tools of his choice anyway.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

