Let Summer Begin

Thank you to all the servicemen and women, who have given their time, their energy and too often their lives to protect and defend our United States. Whatever else Memorial Day has come to mean, honoring our fallen and our defenders should remain the central point of this holiday.
Beyond the original concept, Memorial Day means to me a time to remember my deceased family and the start of summer. The Powell family tradition was to place flowers on the graves at several cemetaries. When I was a kid, I remember visiting 3 different ones, including one in Alpine where our pioneering forefathers were buried. Depending upon the year, we would be taking bearded Iris, Calla lilies, and sometimes roses to decorate the graves. This year, as cold as it has been, we will be taking Snowball Viburnum and Rhododendrons. This is the first year in a long time that I will be accompanying my parents. I am actually looking forward to it. To me, the contemplation of history and loss in a peaceful setting reminds me of the preciousness of life and the blessings I can count daily.
For many of us, Memorial Day signals the unofficial start to summer. This year, I think it is still winter! What a spring we have had. The one good thing I can say is that the spring flowers have lasted a long time and every plant still looks fresh, not dried out and spent. At the nursery, we still have a great selection of blooming shrubs and trees. I finally planted my garden this last week and everything is looking good. This year it is definitely not too late to plant now. We still have a great selection, although it will decrease in the coming weeks. But right now, we are very full with beautiful plants, pots and outdoor furniture. We even just received a shipment of outdoor, weather resistant art. I have my eye on one of them.
I for one am looking forward to some sunshine and warmer weather. It looks like it might come just in time for next weekend. Garland Nursery is pleased to have local, award-winning author Marjorie Sandor at the nursery on Saturday, June 4th at 11 am to sign her new book. We hope you are able to join us. In this newest memoir, Marjorie writes about love, life and gardening, including references to Garland Nursery.
I will be working Saturday and Monday, but I do get Sunday off. My husband and I will be working in our own garden. We have been busy getting ready for the Linn County Master Gardeners “Through the Garden Gate” tour on Saturday, June 18th. I am excited and nervous to show off my garden on this tour. Tickets are $10 and are available at several local nurseries, including Garland Nursery.
Whatever your plans are for the weekend, I hope it is a safe one for you. Happy Gardening.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

