Thank you, Mom!

Remember when you were 7?  Giving a gift to your mom was easy.  All you had to do was make a hand-printed card and paint a picture.  Maybe pick a bouquet of wildflowers.  When you hit your teens and started earning money, you took a long time deciding what to buy her with the $5 you earned babysitting.  Then you got a real job , and in your twenties and thirties you selected pretty, but practical gifts.  In your forties you chose extravagant gifts that said, “I can afford anything.”  Now, approaching your fifties, you are hard pressed to find something appropriate.  What does Mom need or want?  She has everything.  What should I get for her?  You labor over every choice.  Okay, you can substitute my name for “you”.  I’m really writing about myself.  Add to the story that my mom owns a nursery.  The last thing I think she wants is flowers.

Now if my mom was a nurse or a teacher (her chosen profession) then I would have it made!  After all, I work in a business with the best gifts for Moms.  You could go with the tried and true, a gorgeous hanging basket designed and grown by Garland Nursery.  We have several different designs, but my favorites is are Blueberry Lemonade and Evening Sunset.  Add to that the fabulous, locally grown Fuchsia baskets.  You simply can’t go wrong with a hanging basket from Garland Nursery.

A close second as my go to gift is the wide array of Pre de Provence soaps.  They smell delicious and are incredibly moisturizing to the skin.  This is an item that I always include in any gift basket for women.  My favorite is mint leaf, but the lavender and verbena are our most popular.  The gift baskets I give usually include a soap, a Root candle in a coordinating scent and a package of Abra bath salts.  You could include a bottle of wine, too.

If your mom is a gardener, serious or not, she could always use one of the following:  a good pair of gloves, a kneeling pad or a kneeling bench, a pair of Felco pruners, a great trowel, or a hori hori weeder knife.  You may have seen these items on another list of gift suggestions.  That is because they are the most popular items we sell.  If you are in your thirties and want to spring for something big, buy a tuff tote and fill it with all of the above!

Okay,  you’re thinking to yourself, “I’ve given her all of these things, what’s new and different?”  New plants in the last 2 years:  Blackberry and Coralberry Superbells; Pretty Much Picasso Petunias;  Phantom, Pinstripe and Black Velvet Petunias.  Black Velvet and a bottle of Black Velvet-that could work.  Pretty Much Picasso is a hot pink petunia with a green edge.  It may sound gaudy, but the ladies love it!  It has been very popular.  I even broke down and planted some in my own yard.  On the shrub end there is a new series of non-invasive butterly bush and a reblooming lilac.  In perennials, there is a cute Coreopsis called Sweet Dreams and Itoh Peonies (an impressive cross between fragrant bush peonies and papery-flowered, woody tree peonies).

Many of these items were listed as gifts the mothers on my staff would like to receive.  One answer that surprised me was awish for a gargoyle statue.  But then I thought about it and it made a lot of sense.  My yard is crammed with plants and I’m always picking up something new at the nursery.  What I can always use more of is garden art.  While others  like gargoyles, I’m a fan of frogs, especially the frogs from Campania.  There are several on my current wish list.  Beyond statues, Garland Nursery also has kinetic metal spinners, dragonflies with moving wings, and outdoor canvas art.

Still not sure what to give to one of the most important women in your life?  You have a few more options.  Bring her out for a special afternoon at Garland Nursery.  We don’t charge to look.  Window shopping is always fun.  And we have really great coffee.  Or tell her to pick out her own gift.  You can set a limit.  Give her a gift certificate.  Better yet, give her a gift certificate from Garland Nursery and one from yourself, promising to be her garden helper for an afternoon.  And if you’re 5, wish you were 5, know someone who’s 5, just come out and pick out something pretty and pink.  Your mom will love it.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank you, Mom!

  1. yvonne dwyer says:

    ????? why can’t I be ” guided ”…to buy the Hydrangeas you have on sale..on your website?????

Leave a Reply

