Thank you Mr. Evison

A big thank you to the charming and delightful Raymond Evison.  The handsome and funny British Clematis breeder was a hit today at the nursery as he informed us about Clematis for small gardens.  With over 40 years of Clematis breeding under his belt, Mr. Evison shared with us many of his introductions.  I must admit that meeting him, I felt like a school girl upon seeing Sir Paul McCartney.  Swooning indeed!  I personally selected his introduction ‘Crystal Fountain’ to plant with my improperly pruned, and thus naked on the bottom ‘Perle de Azur’.  I also snagged an autograph.  Again, many thanks to Raymond Evison for speaking at Garland Nursery and thrilling us all.

Delivery after delivery of plants have been arriving at the nursery in preparation for our Anniversary celebration this weekend.  We turn 74 years old.  The nursery is full of gorgeous blooming plants and foliage interest.  Our first Basil plants arrived today.  We also have Tomatoes and Peppers.  It’s still a little early to be planting those warmth-lovers outside unprotected, but if you have spring fever like I do, Garland Nursery has the cure!  So join us on Saturday and Sunday to celebrate long life and the promise of spring.

 

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

