Thinking of all things green

I am thinking of all things green.  What has sent my mind into such a verdant reverie?  Well, it might be the moss in my lawn, or should I say the lawn in my moss?  I had decided that since the moss was growing better than the grass perhaps I should leave it.  Then I got a visit from my dad, and well I respect his opinions so I’m going to give the grass one more chance.  But before I reseed in  April, I’m going to apply Bonide Moss Max this month.  March is the traditional month in the northwest to treat your lawn to control moss.  I’m going to choose the iron-based, granular form.  That iron should also help green up my lawn, which is not standing up against my neighbor’s lawn.  I think I’ll also apply Northwest Best Premium Lawn food.  It has performed the best for our yard. The good news is the Moss Max is $2 off at Garland Nursery through the 20th, so I’ve got to get going.

Another reason I’m thinking of green is the lovely, blooming Shamrock that my hostess had as a centerpiece at a luncheon yesterday.  Shamrocks are surrounded by all sorts of legend, lore and mystery.  First, the Druids exalted the power of the shamrock to avert evil spirits.  To them the shamrock represented the sacred number 3.  Its heart-shaped leaflets represented the Triple Goddess of Celtic Mythology, or the Three Morgans (Mothers) that symbolized the hearts of the ancient Celtic Tribes.  When St. Patrick arrived on the scene, he used the familiar Shamrock to illustrate the concept of the Holy Trinity, while converting the Druids to Christianity.  Finally, during the Irish rebellion of 1798, wearing the shamrock symbol was considered an act of rebellion and punishable by hanging.  This is where we get the term “wearing o’ the green”.

Shamrock was “seamrog” in gaelic, which meant little clover or summer plant.  There is controversy as to whether the original shamrock was white clover (Trifolium repens) or Wood Sorrel (Oxalis acetosella), which is what is commonly sold as a Shamrock today.

Of course, beyond the boring details are the exciting superstitions and lore.  One claims that if an unmarried woman finds a four-leaf clover and eats it, she will soon meet her husband.  Another states that shamrocks are an indicator of an upcoming storm because their leaves turn upright.  And more…If someone finds a 2 leaf clover they will soon find a lover.  Eve carried a four-leaf clover out of Eden to protect her. Rub the juice of a four-leaf clover in one’s eyes aids in seeing invisible fairies.

While fairies may be invisible, their gardens and houses are not.  Children 4-12 can join us Sat, March 12th at 11 am to learn about creating fairy gardens.  Nicole is leading the Little Sprouts class and she is obsessed with fairies.  Okay, maybe not obsessed, perhaps enamored.  Anyway, I have seen the houses she has made for the class and they are charming.  I wish I was participating.  Which leads me to pronounce that we should definitely have a fairy garden class for adults.  Anyone interested, please e-mail me at brenda@garlandnursery.com and I’ll get it going.

What else has me pondering the color green?  You’ve heard the phrase “green with envy”?  For the last few years we have carried Envy Zinnia seeds from Botanical Interests.  They have sold okay.  This year I decided to not bring them in with the initial seed order.  What happened?  Martha Stewart featured Envy Zinnia in her magazine.  So now we have the seed in stock.  Martha is a great marketer.

There are so many more green things rolling around in my mind, but the last thing to discuss is simply plants.  Garland Nursery is receiving plants daily.  What has been gray and barren is now bursting with succulent herbs and vegetables, budding shrubs and glistening groundcovers.  Within a month or so, we will be at the height of our inventory.   It is an exciting time at the nursery and I am ready.  On your marks, get set, let spring roll.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

