Hearts and flowers

Valentine’s Day is on Monday. My favorite gift to receive is chocolate but a close second is flowers. Being in the nursery business, I pick out my own living gifts and my husband has to get creative with the local jeweler or florist. So yesterday I shopped for my own living valentine. Here’s what I decided to indulge in…A pink Anthurium, or horny heart as my mom liked to say. Anthuriums are wonderfully easy (even my sister couldn’t kill it) to grow with waxy heart-shaped flowers. They are a beautiful tropical living bouquet. I also selected a double, truly perennial primrose. If you’ve read this blog at least once, you can figure out I adore primroses. I’ve had the best success with the You and Me series (I’m not sure if it’s even available anymore), the Oceana series and just plain primroses. The Belarina rosette double series is reputed to be a true perennial. I picked out a blue one. The flowers are so cute! When the Oceana series arrived, I picked out 2 yellow ones. The Oceanas are primroses on steroids. Everything is bigger about them. Jumbo leaves and jumbo flowers make quite a “splash”. Remember, yellow primroses are fragrant. Ooh! I had decided that I was going to show restraint and select only 2 and pair them with the double blue primrose I selected. I had to walk past the doubles just to make sure that was a good look. What happened? I saw the double yellow primrose and decided that am monochromatic scheme would be best. Of course, the double yellow one is also fragrant. I’ve been eyeing the beautiful, pure white Josef Hellebores, so I had to pick one of those, too. There were a few other selections as well but it was mainly all about the primroses.
My other project for the weekend is planting peas. We have starts of edible peas in stock now. And now is the perfect time to plant them. However, being a lazy gardener, I want to plant pole peas. I didn’t see any of those in plants, so I am going to start Super Sugar Snap Pole peas inside and transplant them outside in a few weeks. I’m thinking about starting Nasturtiums indoors soon, too. I think I’m a few weeks too early but we’ll see. At the nursery we have spinach and garlic starts. We also have packaged seed potatoes and package onion sets. The bulk ones will come later, but if you’re dying to get yours in, we have them.
So many things are arriving that it’s getting exciting! We got hazelnuts in this week. They are all the disease resistant varieties. They need a pollinator, so we have the appropriate couples. The roses arrived too and are available bareroot. I’m planning on blogging about those next week, so stay posted.
Beyond the plant category, we are also getting in a lot of garden art: butterflies and dragonflies and lady bugs in bright colors as well as outdoor ready canvas art. And pink flamingos, too. There is so much arriving that I’m having a hard time keeping track of it all. Suffice it to say that Garland Nursery is ready for spring and if you’re needing some inspiration, come on out because we’ve got it in spades..and hearts, and…..

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

