Quite the weather

What a glorious, sunny day it was today. Yes, it was chilly but at least we’re not buried in snow. Things keep arriving and arriving. In the last 2 weeks we’ve gotten in new shipments of potting soil, planting mixes and mulches. Dr. Earth has new line of soils including Fruit Tree Planting Mix, a Vegetable Planting Mix and a high quality POTting soil. Kellogg Garden products has colorful new packaging for their Gardner & Bloome line. Check out the new look on their website http://www.kellogggarden.com/products?brand=gardnerbloome&category=gardnerbloome-soils. They have some great videos on there, too.
The first order of bulbs arrived and is unpacked. There’s a great selection of Dahlias, gladiolas, Crocosmia, and lilies. I was most excited about Gladiolus Limoncello and a double oriental lily called Soft Music. Crystal liked a Royal Horticultural Society Glad called Cindy best because it is pink and orange. Begonias aren’t here yet, but will be arriving soon.
We now have blooming daffodils and crocus in addition to new varieties of primroses.
This Saturday, February 5th from 9 am to 5 pm, the Mary’s Peak Orchid Society is holding their annual show and sale at Garland Nursery. We are so excited to have them hold it here. They will be available all day to answer questions and give tips. Plus they will repot your orchid for a small fee. At 10 am, an orchid society member is going to lead an Orchid 101 class. I love orchids! They are easier to grow than most people think. My husband, the Gardening Dummy, takes care of all our houseplants ever since I “forgot” to water his bonsai Poinsettia. We have 2 Phalaenopsis in bloom right now. So if he can get them to grow, you can too. Even if you don’t want to grow them yourself, you could come out and enjoy looking at all the different kinds.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

