I love the sun

What a glorious day today. I enjoy the sunny winter days more because they follow weeks of gray, rainy weather. the birds were chirping and picking seeds from the feeder. The beess buzzed around the Hellebores and Witch Hazel by the barn. I enjoyed my noontime walk with 5 dogs. Even the dogs seemed happier. I know I was.
Things are starting to pick up at the nursery. Over half of our fruit trees have now arrived. Now is a great time to plant them. They are bare root (sans soil). They adapt better to the native soil that way, although I still prefer to add compost when I plant. It’s great to mix in a starter fertilizer when you plant, too. Espoma’s Plant tone and Dr. Earth Starter Fertilizer are both great for that purpose. Don’t forget to stake the trees, too. It’s a good idea to do so the first year.
We are well stocked again with Primroses and Pansies. There are even Daffodils and Crocus about ready to bloom.
Seeds are selling well. I will need to reorder soon. This Saturday, Jan 29th, Garland Nursery will be teaching a class on Seed Starting at 1 pm. It was a very popular class last year. Karen Hopson, our nursery manager, is teaching. She is so knowledgable. I hope you will be able to join us. If you have children, we will be having our first Little Sprouts event Saturday Jan 29th at 11 am.
We have lots of blooming plants for Valentine’s Day: Anthurium, Miniature Roses, Orchids, and Gardenias. We even got in some heart-shaped huckleberry wreaths for your front door. I couldn’t resist and had to get a pink Anthurium. I will always remember my mom, picking up on an idea from my aunt, who is a floral designer, and marketing the Anthuriums as “horny heart bouquets”. They remind me of Hawaii.
With the nice weather supposed to continue through the weekend, I am hoping to get out into my own yard and prune the grapes and ornamental grass. I may even throw caution (and conventional wisdom) to the wind and prune my roses. The local official time to prune roses is still President’s Day weekend. Of course, my husband-the gardening dummy-will be helping. I will have to wait until it warms up a little bit. I worked outside on Sunday from 4-5 and my hands got cold! I dislike wearing gloves, but I could have used a pair of winter gardening gloves.
I don’t know about you, but I am hoping for another week of this divine weather before we get back to the Oregon rain. I hope you are enjoying your winter time in the garden.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

