Early bloomers

It is amazing to me that here in Oregon we have plants blooming year round. Perhaps the beauty of winter flowers makes up for the gray days. Certainly our temperate climate and ample rainfall allow the plants to bloom. There are so many choices to brighten your yard: Hellebores, Witch hazel, Daphne odora, Yuletide Camellia, Winter Jasmine, Sarcococca (Sweet Box), Primroses and Pansies. Somewhere in the far reaches of my mind I recall learning that plants need help in attracting pollinators have fragrant flowers. I don’t recall if they need help because their flowers are so small or they bloom in winter. In any case, many of the winter bloomers are fragrant. My favorites are Daphne and Sarcococca (Sweet Box). I have a Sarcococca planted at my house and I enjoy my sister’s Daphne. Also at my house I have a Yuletide Camellia. The hummingbirds seem to like it and it is very cheery.
Garland Nursery has all the above mentioned plants in stock. Check out the photos on our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/#!/GarlandNursery.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

