Still obsessing about seeds

I’ve had a chance to look over the Botanical Interests and Territorial seed racks. There are several varieties on each rack that I’m excited about. Territorial has a new Cucumber called ‘Summer Dance’. It is a burpless Japanese type with 8 1/2-9 inch long, uniform fruit and a crisp, clean flavor. I ordered their “Salad Collection” which highlights 36 different varieties of vegetables that would be good in salad. These are in individual packets. You can choose what you want to grow. I am a lettuce lover and there were 3 that caught my eye. Nevada is a French crisp/Batavia lettuce that is very resistant to tip burn and bolting. Speckles is an old Amish heirloom. It is a butterhead type with bright red “speckles” and a buttery flavor. The third is Dazzle, a mini Romaine type with ruby-red leaves. What a beautiful salad the three together would make!
Botanical Interests has 2 combination packs, a whole salad garden and a whole vegetable garden. Each one comes with 6-7 varieties of individually packaged vegetables plus detailed planting instructions, a planting schedule, design ideas, growing tips and recipes. As their website, http://www.botanicalinterests.com, states this is a great way to “take the guesswork out of gardening.” There are other cool new varieties. They have a French Pumpkin called “Musquee de Provence”. It is a beautiful heirloom with a sweet flavor. Zinnia ‘Art Deco’ produces stunning large flowers in pink, lavender and royal purple. Viola ‘Amber Jewels’ is a glistening combination of amber, copper, rasberry and plum. Finally, in the large packets, they have added a “Save the Bees” mix containing “annual and perennial herbs, and flowers proven to attract bees and other pollinating insects.” I’m fascinated by bees. I even talk to them, a fact that I probably shouldn’t admit. I’m delighted to see them hovering around my Rosemary and Basil when they are in bloom. There pollination provides an abundant crop of blueberries in my back yard.
With the rainy weather, this is a great time to plot and plan your garden for 2011.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

