Grow your own sweet delights

Most of the berries are here! Strawberries arrive soon. They are available without soil (aka bareroot). This saves you some money and makes them easier to plant and adapt to their new environment. You can plant now through February, but once March rolls around they should be in soil and not disturbed while their new root hairs are growing.
The hazelnut flowers, called catkins, are exploding. To me this is always the first sign that spring is coming. I’ve heard reports that the snowdrops are in bloom, although mine are just starting to show color.
I didn’t get my primroses planted. That will have to wait until Sunday night as I’m working this weekend.
Saturday at 11 am we will have a class on pruning and dormant spraying: techniques to increase your plant’s health.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

