A New Beginning

A View From the Barn
January 7th, 2011
January, the month of second chances and fresh starts. Out with the old and in with the new. At the nursery, we’re getting ready for the arrival of the bareroot berries, fruit trees, and roses. They will make their appearance in the next month. This week we picked up a fresh load of blueberries in pots. You can plant them now, weather permitting. In the store, Christmas is in storage and we’re gearing up for spring. We like to change the location of some items to keep it fresh, so come check it out.
We are making some changes in our marketing and website. Rather than a long e-letter every other month, we will be sending shorter, more frequent e-mails telling you about our classes, events, sales and other happenings. Look for our magazine Flourish to appear online, in the mail, or by e-mail the first week in April. We’re excited about it. We’ll publish another one in the fall. Sign-up on our e-mail list if you’re interested. Also, we’re highlighting our suppliers this year. We’ll post a short history about who they are and why we buy from them on our website 1 or 2 times a month. We’d like you to get to know the people you’re supporting through your purchases at Garland Nursery. In addition, we’re bringing back our Little Sprouts Kid’s Garden Club and launching a Garland’s Garden Club reward program. The first kid’s event will be Sat. January 29th at 11 am. Next Saturday is a pruning and dormant spraying class at 11 am. Check out the event schedule for more details.
I get excited when the new seed racks arrive and two of them came today! Nicole unpacked the Renee’s Seeds and she was most excited about the ‘Pixie’ Baby Cabbage. It looks so cute. Other new varieties on the rack this year include: ‘Tasty Green’ Japanese Cucumber, Wine Country Mesculun lettuce blend, Hibiscus herbal tea, ‘Little Lion’ Zinnia (cute and orange),and a lovely ‘Buttercream’ Nasturtium. Renee’s Seeds has a great website, reneesgarden.com, so check it out for descriptions.
Territorial Seeds were being unpacked today. I’ll be checking out the new varieties on Monday. Even better, their very helpful catalog is available for only 25 cents. We got 100 copies to sell! It’s a bargain considering all the growing information they include.
I couldn’t believe it but I saw a pair of hummingbirds today. I think they live in my ‘Yuletide’ Camellia in my front yard. It appeared that one was trying to find nectar in the flowers. I wonder if Camellias are a good source of nectar for them? Other birds were out in force today, too. There were at least a dozen feeding on something in my lawn. Hopefully, they were eating harmful insect grubs and not earthworms.

About Brenda Powell

I'm one of the owners of a family-owned retail nursery. I have a degree in horticulture from Oregon State University. I love to garden and read. My technically savvy but horticulturally challenged husband, Mitch, spends most of his time as slave labor in the garden. Thank goodness he adores me! My goal in this blog is to share my enjoyment of gardening, my love of nature, and my addiction to books. Did I mention I like to cook, too?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Beginning

  1. Mitch Brown says:

    Hi Brenda,

    What a great blog. Things are sure starting to ramp up at Garland Nursery. I can tell it is going to be a great year with so many new and exciting events coming up. I feel for you with that dolt of a husband I read about on your gardening tips page at http://www.garlandnursery.com/January_tips.html. Must be fun though.

  2. Hi,

    Nice blog and I really love the nursery’s website. Looking foreward to reading the blog over the coming months.

Leave a Reply

